Corporate Blogging? Why Should I?

I often wondered why most companies are buying into this social media trend. Of course, I am an advocate of using social media to build customer relationships and engage employees, but why do it if you`re not going to say anything interesting?

A poor example is Coca-Cola Conversations: a sort of Coke history blog written by Coke historian Phil Mooney. I know; Coke historian? Well anyway, the blog features commemorative merchandise and “this day in Coke history” stories. Other than taking a trip down a highly sugared, deliciously diuretic, memory lane, what value is this providing customers of Coke? I don’t mean to poke fun at this niche market—because it is based on the top selling beverage in history. However, Coke needs to create a blog that offers some real value to its customers.

The Official Google Blog is a good example of a relevant and valuable corporate blog (I know, the last thing Google needs is more praise). This blog has post after post of valuable, USEABLE, technological instruction and “new feature” news. It may very well look like a Google promotion blog, and it is. But it also offers something in return for its readers. I can at least figure out how to use Google Docs while I read about how unstoppable this giant market-eating shark is becoming.

If you were an employee of Google or Coke, what would you rather see: a blog highlighting and praising the hard work of some of the world’s best programmers and designers, or a blog about the marketing creativity of past employees? Game, set, match.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Corporate Blogging? Why Should I?”

  1. Tasha Says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Kevin Rapanos Says:

      Hi Tasha, that’s a tough one. Unless you’re willing to take legal action, there’s not much you can do other than request that it be taken down. If it’s another blog, etc., posting a comment that links to your copy (which has an earlier date) seems to work as well.

      Not much but hope it helps.

      -Kevin

  2. google referencer son site Says:

    Because the admin of this web site is working, no doubt very rapidly it will be renowned, due to its quality contents.

  3. outils referencement Says:

    Hurrah! At last I got a web site from where I be able to really
    obtain useful facts concerning my study and knowledge.

  4. Layne Says:

    Very good website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any message boards
    that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where
    I can get opinions from other experienced individuals that
    share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

